Raf Simons, Stuart Vevers, Monse Win CFDA Awards

NEW YORK — The winners of the 2017 CFDA Fashion Awards were revealed Monday night at the Hammerstein Ballroom here, and Raf Simons took home the most prizes.
After a mere one season at the helm of Calvin Klein, the Belgian-born designer took home dual awards for Womenswear Designer of the Year and Menswear Designer of the Year. Calvin Klein himself was the only other designer to receive both honors the same year in 1993.
Meanwhile, the Accessory Designer of the Year prize went to another foreign-born designer: The British-born Stuart Vevers for Coach. The Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent went to Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia for Monse.
Simons was officially  named creative director of all of Calvin Klein’s brands last August after a year’s speculation that he was headed to the iconic American fashion house after a successful stint at Christian Dior.
He immediately put his stamp on the house in his first show in February. As WWD’s Bridget Foley wrote in her view, the show “thrilled with its smart, powerful clothes for women and men. Everything surrounding the clothes — the 10 a.m. time slot; the location, at the brand’s longtime West 39th Street headquarters in the former Garment District —

Follow WWD on Twitter or become a fan on Facebook.

Read More…
Source: Women’s Wear Daily
Raf Simons, Stuart Vevers, Monse Win CFDA Awards

Raf Simons, Stuart Vevers, Monse Win CFDA Awards


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published / Required fields are marked *